Tags

, , ,

Image

This has been my view for the past few hours, a loyal furry companion who just will not leave my side.  He is ecstatic to have me home, on the comfy couch with warm blankets and a hand to pet him or to lick.  Right now, Nick the Sheltie is sunning himself at my feet.  A good portion of the morning he has been snuggled in next to me, occasionally sneaking over to put his head in my lap for a pet.

"Licky Nicky" always needs to communicate with me with a lick of the hand.  The guy is so loving.

“Licky Nicky” always needs to communicate with me with a lick of the hand. The guy is so loving.

Of course, yesterday was our first measurable snowfall of the year.  I came home from the hospital amidst falling snowflakes, my head and eyelids heavy from the affects of the morning’s anethstesia (can’t spell that one, I’m out of the Bee).  Mir kept asking me if I was sleepy, just as my eyelids were closing.  Only my groggy state kept me from slapping her, the questions timed all day as if she were trying to keep me from resting.  Sometimes the best care is just to leave me alone.  She got the message after a few irritated replies. My parents came over in the afternoon, visited for a while, brought food, then left to let me rest.  I slept quite well, waking to trickle (groggy pees are the worst thing ever), then return to the couch.  This morning I awoke are 4 AM, took some of the pain pills I was given, slept until 6 AM, then have been awake since.  Soon I will take more pills, but for now I am enjoying the lucidity, the dog at my feet, and the sun streaming through our living room windows.

Ahhhh, sun and warm blankets and Steve (he's still there, even as I write).

Ahhhh, sun and warm blankets and Steve (he’s still there, even as I write).

Nick loves the snow.  When I let him out this morning, he couldn’t resist a good roll in the fluffy stuff.  He ignored me when I called him to come in.  My dog can be such a kid some times.  So instead I let him enjoy the cold and snow for a while, sat at the kitchen table in front of our sliding glass door to the back deck, cat in my lap.  Chester is my other furry friend….

Who me?  You talkin' to me?  I'm invisible.  You can't possibly want me to come in already!

Who me? You talkin’ to me? I’m invisible. You can’t possibly want me to come in already!

