Tags

, , ,

A bible from 1859.

A bible from 1859. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I want to propose a statement, one that I suppose could be profound if properly discussed, but as a statement by itself, well, it’s a statement:

Science will never catch up with God.

There you have all of my collective wisdom summed up in six…er.. wait.  SEVEN words.

The statement is easy to make, difficult to dispute, simply because there is no real way to prove the statement can’t be true.  One can take the high road, say the only realistic argument is to say there is no God.  Yeah.  Say that if you want.  But what if you don’t know, if you can’t say without a reasonable doubt that God does not exist.

So you are left with deciding what you believe about God.  Where does God really rank?  Is God creator?  Sustainer of life?

Does science exist because of God?

Oooooooo, good question, Steve.  Stevie may be a profound idiot at times, profane even, but maybe just maybe he asks a good question.  If you hold to the concept of God as creator, then it is reasonable to propose that science does exist because of God.

So does math.

So does art.

So does pretty much anything that exists, mundane or complex.

I might even go as far as to say that religion will never catch up with God.  Why do I think that?  Because I believe that there is too much man in religion, that we can reach as much for God as we want, but we will never find a perfect way on our own to please the God.

Of science.

What man has succeeded to know is that no matter how much we invent and find out, there is always more to discover.

I like what Billy Graham said, a much quoted line from one of his sermons.

There is a mystery to it.

Funny thing is that we are told that there always will be a mystery.  Why?  Because we will never completely see the world as it is, see ourselves or others or anything else as it is, until we fully see God.

And that will never happen while we are alive.

The love chapter of what I believe is God’s message to us, the Bible, tells us this:

12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.  – I Corinthians 13:12

Oddly enough, Paul is not talking about science or the mysteries of this world.  Paul is talking about love.  He is talking about people.

Perhaps my statement should be this — people will never catch up to God

Anyone want to tackle that question?  I can’t.  I can talk about how it’s nearly impossible, no matter how hard we try or no matter how close we come, to look at God’s ultimate creation in the same way that God does.

Might change what Christian people say to people about their sin.  They might choose to look at the person instead, letting God address the sin (or even perceived sin).

Might change what people say about the church and/or believers (Christians).  Perhaps they will cut them some slack, let them make a mistake, quit expecting people who believe in God to be the One they believe in.

Might change boundaries.  Could change a lot of things.

Wouldn’t that be heaven?

I think that’s the place we’ll catch up.

