Nothing is better than getting a new toy.  Ask any child this time of year as Christmas rapidly approaches.  This child is hoping Santa has something special for him under the tree this Thursday.

A new bike.

Scott Scale 760, light aluminum alloy frame with 10 speed rear cassette, Shimano XT rear and Deore front, Rock Shox fork with remote cable lock out.  29er with disc brakes.  A basic bike.

Scott Scale 760, light aluminum alloy frame with 10 speed rear cassette, Shimano XT rear and Deore front, Rock Shox fork with remote cable lock out. 29er with disc brakes. A basic bike.

My friend Pete, a local bike owner who has been struggling to make his new shop earn a profit, is going out of business.  We have done a lot of volunteer work around the community together, so Pete has reserved one of the last mountain bikes out of his remaining stock for me.  He picked it out with me in mind, knowing that I have been riding a bottom of the line mountain bike that I bought used two years ago, a nice bike but never intended for the hard trail riding I have subjected it to.  Pete has been the mechanic for that bike, one of the reasons why it survived two seasons of hard use.  So the Scott Scale 760 bike he has reserved for me, a step up from my current ride but just a step above entry level, is a nice gesture to me as a loyal customer and friend.  As we shared a beer together the other night and I listened to him talk about the closing of his shop, Pete offered the bike to me at cost.  I took the bike out yesterday morning for a quick trail ride and loved it.

Now I need to find the money.  Here’s hoping Santa is kind to me….

