Tags

, ,

The prompt for this week is “Is there someone from history that you want to slap?  Who and Why?”.  Read ’em and weep.

I really didn’t have to think too much about this one.  That pretty much defines most of my blogs.  I also just realized that this prompt really isn’t a creative prompt, probably why the book ‘300 Writing Prompts’ should probably be titled ‘A Lot of Questions’.

I want to slap Adam and Eve, stinking snake chasing, apple eating, fig underwear wearing Adam and Eve.  Given the chance, I would slap Eve then remove another rib from Adam.  Every morning and every time I have to try to figure out how to configure the hair that remains on my head so that it doesn’t look like a comb over, each year that passes where it is more difficult to keep the fat from invading my body, when I look at pictures of a younger me and realize my time is closer to being up, I want to slap them.  It’s their fault!

That whole dust to dust and no more tree of life punishment kind of bites (snake pun intended).

When the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was desirable to make one wise, she took from its fruit and ate;  and she gave also to her husband with her, and he ate.  Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they knew that they were naked, and they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves loin coverings.”

That’s right.  It is Eve’s fault and she corrupted Adam, so it’s their fault.  From that day forward, we have all been embarrassed to wear our birthday suit.

“And the man said, ‘The woman who Thou gavest to be with me, SHE gave me from the tree, and I ate.”

From that day forward, men have blamed women for everything.  Wow.  I guess that apple really did make Adam smart..NOT!!!

“To the woman He said ‘I will greatly multiply your pain in childbirth, in pain you shall bring forth children, yet your desire shall be for your husband, and he shall rule over you.”

I am smacking Adam big time for this one.  The childbirth thing, well, that sucks.  Sorry, Eve.  But Adam, I have been scratching my head over the desire and rule thing for the last 22 years of bondage.

Adam and Eve.  Slapped.

