Tags

,

I worked my butt off this week, a change from years past where my previous employer closed up from Christmas to the beginning of January.  Last year, I was working at the job that I have now, my first Christmas holiday with the new company.  We worked a little during the holiday break, but not enough where I felt I was not getting a significant break.

This holiday was different.  I wanted to work.  Why?

We, my company of three, moved into new digs.  After renting three offices at a Regus center for two years, it was time to take the next step and get a space we can call our own.  Our goal was to save money, something we will be accomplishing in our new space.  The move feels like a new start, our little subsidiary stretching its wings to begin the next growth phase.

My boss let me and our office manager pick out our own furniture for each of our offices.  That also meant that we had to handle the delivery, move the boxes of furniture into the building and up to our second floor suite, then assemble the furniture.

Dang, does that take a long time!  The instructions for my desk alone has over fifty assembly steps to follow.  My credenza took a full day to assemble, especially since I am the muscle in our group of three and spent a lot of time helping out my coworkers.  Tuesday, I started at 7:30 AM, got home around 9 PM.

DSC_0460The new digs are in a two story building with a balcony that overlooks a little courtyard.  Our suite is on the second floor, with exposed wood planked 20 foot ceilings and large sky lights.  My office is at the front of the suite, with a glass front that over looks the courtyard.  We have a little library, nook, and large storage closet.  In the office that I just moved out of, my office was also our stockroom.  Not any more!

My boss has a spacious office at the back of the suite with windows all the way across, with a view of a nice pond and mature trees.  Our office manager has an office in the middle, next to mine, convenient as she has to deal with both my boss and myself.  We both are off of the lobby entrance.

A new place that leaves us with hope for a fresh beginning.  Our little subsidiary is doing very well, growing like it should, beginning to show the signs of our hard work.

2016 looks good!

