Tags

, , ,

Easter has come and gone, bringing with it hopes of warmer temperatures along with all manner of sprouting green plants and awakening grass.  In my household that means we finally get out of the house.  Our house is not a large house and after a long, frigid winter we begin to resemble Jack Nicholson in The Shining.

All work and no play makes Steve a dull boy

All work and no play makes Steve a dull boy

All work and no play makes Steve a dull boy

All work and no play makes Steve a dull boy

All work and no play makes Steve a dull boy

All work and no play makes Steve a dull boy

Heh heh heh

Not that I have stayed in all of the time.  This is my year to shine again on the bicycle, I have decided, and as soon as temperatures began to climb over 20 degrees I started riding my bicycle outside.  I have been riding consistently since the beginning of March and am already beginning to feel good on the bike.  Last week I got out on the dirt trails, my mountain bike a bit rusty since my blue weenie ride in January, but the trails were perfect Wednesday night.  Since I enjoyed myself so much on Wednesday, I went back again on Thursday.

I ran over a rock the size of a loaf of bread, the wrong way so that it flew straight up and broke off the rear derailleur (translation:  shifter) on my mountain bike.  Oops.  The parts won’t be in until at least this Wednesday.  I got my exercise the rest of Thursday’s ride by hiking out to the parking lot with my bike slung over my shoulder.

Miriam frowned when I told her.  She reminded me that we don’t have health insurance right now.  Oops again.

It’s also fib truthfully season.  Nate and I are playing golf again.  Anyone who plays golf knows what I mean when I say ‘fib truthfully’.  It’s an art I see practiced most on the golf course.

The thought struck me last evening as we walked a fairway together that golf is the time when Nate really treats me like his father.  We don’t argue.  Lately Nate has been arguing with me about getting a smart phone and we had an argument about it all weekend.  Did he mention it on the golf course?  Not once nor did he on the way home.  I realized that it’s always that way when we are playing golf.

Hmmmm…. is there a way we can play golf all of the time?  I might actually get somewhere with the kid.

Nate is my size now.  When we played golf last November, I was hitting the ball farther than him.  The first time Nate and I played together this year (a week ago last Sunday), Nate was hitting 270-280 yard tee shots.  He has almost always been a better golfer than me but at least I could out drive him before now.  Oh well.  I don’t have to be better, just available.

And, finally, I thought I would share this little scene from the street in front of my house this afternoon.  It’s my neighbor Doug getting his ten year project running, a restored John Deere tractor.  Sweet.  I wouldn’t have seen that happen had I been at work.

Makes me think I am back home around Springfield, not in Chicagoland.

Makes me think I am back home around Springfield, not in Chicagoland.

